What are Web App Permissions?
If you are a vWork Admin user, you have the ability to customize what your dispatchers are allowed to do on the vWork website.
Why should I use web app permissions?
Use Web app permissions to determine what dispatchers can access within your vWork account and what information they cannot access.
How do I set Web App Permissions?
In the example below, the user has full permissions for both the website and the mobile app.
The web app permissions include:
Jobs - The Jobs permission allows the user to create and edit jobs in vWork, it also gives them permission to see the Jobs tab.
Schedule - The schedule permission allows the user to see the schedule and schedule jobs and quotes to various workers.
Map - The map permission allows the user to see the map. The map shows worker's current position as well as all jobs that include a geolocated address.
Reports - The reports tab gives the user permission to run reports now, schedule reports for regular delivery by email and setup alerts.
Customers - The customers permission gives the user permission to see the customers tab as well as create new customer records or edit existing customer records.
Equipment - The equipment tab allows the user to see and edit equipment and equipment maintenance schedules.
Quotes - The Quotes permission allows the user to create and edit quotes in vWork, it also gives them permission to see the Quotes tab, approve completed quotes and email them to customers.
Messaging - The messaging tab allows dispatchers to communicate with workers in the field via live chat.
Alerts - This gives the user access to create edit and delete email and SMS alerts.
Admin - The admin permission gives the user global control over the account. Admin access should be limited as admin users can dramatically change how vWork is configured.
- Admins have access to anything under the settings menu (shown below)
- Admins can export and import customers (non admins cannot).
Read Only - You will notice that some of the permissions above have the additional option of read only. When you set an option to read, it means the user will have access to view that content, but not make any changes.
The example below shows a dispatcher who can view the map and the schedule, but is not able to make any changes. They can also run reports.
Quotes Permission - In this example, Anthony has permission to see most of the web pages, but not quotes. Because he has full permission to edit the schedule, he will still be able to drag quotes to their required times, but he will not be able to edit them.
Jobs Permission - In the example below, Anthony does not have permission to edit jobs, but does have full schedule permission, so he will only be able to schedule jobs, not edit them.
Customer Access - In this example, Anthony has been updated so that he has full permission to create, edit and schedule jobs on the Schedule, Map and Jobs page, but he only has read only access for customers. This means that although he can view the customer tab and see all the customer information, when creating new jobs he must use one of the existing customer records.