Mobile reminders are notifications that pop up in the vWork mobile app to remind you that you need to complete a step in a job. This is useful when it is important to keep the status of a job that you are working on up-to-date. To learn more about mobile reminders, please read the article: What are mobile reminders?
In this article
This article explains the rules that mobile reminders follow. First, we list the rules that apply to all types of mobile reminders, and then we detail the additional specific rules that apply to each of the different mobile reminders.
- Rules for all mobile reminders
- Schedule reminder rules
- Arrival reminder rules
- Departure reminder rules
- A word about location tracking
Rules for all mobile reminders
This topic outlines the standard rules and parameters that apply to all types of mobile reminders. Each type of mobile reminder also has additional parameters. They are outlined later in this article.
- Mobile reminders are only issued for jobs that are scheduled to start today. If you have jobs on your mobile app scheduled for tomorrow, or later, you won’t receive reminders for these until the day they are scheduled.
- Mobile reminders are only issued for jobs:
- you have already started, or
- if you are yet to start your jobs, then only for jobs that are accepted and are the next job scheduled to start today.
Note: An accepted job is one that has been published or, a job that is accepted by the mobile worker in the mobile app if Accept and Decline is enabled in your vWork General Settings in the vWork web app. Jobs that have a status of Pending are not accepted.
- You must complete one job before location-based mobile reminders can be triggered for the next job on your schedule.
- Once you have had a mobile reminder you won’t receive it again.
Note: the iOS vWork app has the option to reset all mobile reminders for jobs that aren’t yet completed for today. This is explained in the article, iOS: vWork mobile app - turn on mobile reminders.
- All mobile reminders have two options for you to select from when they show on your phone. You can choose to complete the step named in the mobile reminder or cancel the mobile reminder and then manually complete the step. These options are explained next.
When you select Complete Step:
- you automatically complete the step named in the mobile reminder and the Details screen for that job opens in the vWork app.
- you start the job in vWork mobile app and the dispatcher sees it has a status of Started in the web app if the step was the first step in the job.
When you select Cancel:
- The mobile reminder pop-up notification is dismissed and no changes are made to the job. If you haven’t completed the first step in the job the job remains unstarted in vWork. You are returned to the Jobs screen in the mobile app.
- You will continue to receive other reminders while this, and other jobs, are not started.
When you sign in to the Android vWork mobile app you see the Jobs screen. This is the home screen for the app and is the place where you track your assigned jobs.
The Jobs screen lists the jobs assigned to you and shows you how much of each job is completed. You can Accept or Decline a job here when this option is enabled by your vWork administrator. You can also open the vWork Menu, messages, and each Job from here, and search for a job assigned to you.
Schedule reminder rules
What is the Schedule reminder?
The purpose of the Schedule reminder is to remind you to complete the first step in a job.
How the Schedule reminder works
The Schedule reminder has some extra rules in addition to those that apply to all reminders (see above).
- The Schedule reminder is time-based; it is to remind you to complete the first step in a job and is activated 15 minutes before a job is scheduled to start.
- You may receive more than one Schedule reminder in a row if you have several jobs in your mobile app with the same start time. Each new Schedule reminder will only show when you have acknowledged the one before it by choosing Cancel. If you choose Complete Step the next Schedule reminder won’t show until you have completed the current job.
Arrival reminder rules
What is the Arrival reminder?
The purpose of the Arrival reminder is to remind you to complete a job step when you arrive at the location where you are to complete that step.
How the Arrival reminder works
The Arrival reminder has some extra rules in addition to those for all reminders (see above).
- The Arrival reminder is location-based; they are activated when you are within 300 meters of a job step that has a geocoded address and are no longer moving, or are moving at walking speed.
- You can only get the Arrival reminder for steps with geocoded locations included as part of the step.
- If two jobs are within the 300-meter range the Arrival reminder will activate first for any job that is started. If no job is started it will activate first for either of the scheduled jobs. You will only see an Arrival reminder for one job. Once you have completed that job, or canceled the reminder, you will see the Arrival reminder for the second job.
- You may get several Arrival reminders for one job but not at the same time. You will get an Arrival reminder for every step for a job that has a geocoded address. You must complete the step or cancel the reminder to see the next Arrival reminder.
- You can get an Arrival reminder for the same step you received a Schedule reminder for if you canceled the Schedule reminder and have not completed that step.
Departure reminder rules
What is the Departure reminder?
The purpose of the Departure reminder is to remind you to complete a job step when you have left the location where you expected to complete that step.
How the Departure reminder works
The Departure reminder has some extra rules in addition to those for all reminders (see above).
- The Departure reminder is location-based; it is activated when you are on the move and are 300 meters to 750 meters away from a job step with a geocoded location that you have just left and haven't completed the step for that location.
- You can only get Departure reminders for job steps that have geocoded locations.
- You won't get a Departure reminder for a step you have completed.
A word about location tracking
When you use the Arrival or Departure mobile reminders you need your location settings turned on for the vWork mobile app and for your mobile device. Location settings tell the vWork app how close you are to a geocoded job step. This information is used to trigger location-based mobile reminders.
We recommend that you have Location Tracking set to always on to get the most from the mobile reminders feature.
💡 Tip: If you don’t want your location tracked when you have the vWork app open in the background and you aren’t on shift, make sure you set your Operating Hours to match your working hours in the vWork mobile app Settings and log out of the vWork mobile app. We don't track your location when the app is logged out and it is outside the Operating Hours you have saved in the settings.
To learn how to turn on and reset mobile reminders for your mobile vWork app please read these articles:
- Android: vWork mobile app - turn on mobile reminders
- iOS: vWork mobile app - turn on mobile reminders