Using Groups in vWork

What Are Groups?

Groups allow you to break your workforce into different sets of workers. Each group can then be managed by a different dispatcher who looks after a specific subset of your jobs. This can be useful if you have:

  • Groups of Workers with different Skills (Sales vs Trades, Repair vs Maintenance, Plumbers vs Gasfitters, etc..)
  • Divisions in different regions (North Island vs South Island, East Coast vs West Coast, etc...)
  • Workers in different timezones (EST vs CST vs PST) as each group can have it's own time zone setting.

 

Why should I use Groups?

Using Groups will help you manage your different workers more efficiently.  You will save time searching for specific workers when they are grouped by specific criteria e.g. location, skills, experience etc.  Grouping these workers gives you an faster and more efficient method of choosing the right worker for the job.

 

How do I Enable Groups?

Groups are disabled by default, as many customers find them confusing the first time they use them. If you wish to enable groups on your account, please send an email to support@vworkapp.com and we can turn these on for you.

 

How do I Setup Groups?

Once groups have been enabled for your account, you can set them up on the Groups admin page.
Simply click the "Add Group" button.

Then add the name of the group and a description. You can select which users should be in this new group.
Please ensure that you include any dispatchers or administrators that need access as well as the workers.

Add_Group___vWorkApp.png

  

How do I Use Groups? 

Once your Groups have been created you will see a drop down menu in the top right corner of vWork which allows you to switch between groups.
It is only possible to view one group at a time.

 

groups_select.png

When you create new jobs or templates, you can also select which group (or groups) these should belong to.

Some Tips on Setting Up Groups

  • Workers can belong to multiple groups, allowing them to receive work from different dispatchers.
  • Dispatchers can belong to multiple groups, allowing them to manage multiple workforces.
  • Dispatchers must belong to a group to have permission to see it.
  • Jobs that are in no group, will appear in all groups.

Searching Across Groups 

If you have access to multiple groups and need to search across those groups, you can use our Groups:ANY Search filter in the Jobs tab search box.

In the example below we are searching for number '806' across all groups.

Deleting Groups

If you delete a group, all jobs in the group will switch to 'No Group' and will only be viewable by user with all group permissions (so, no groups ticked in the user permissions section).
Or you can search for them with the Groups:any search filter too.



Need more information? ask us hereHave more questions? Submit a request