User permissions determine what users have access to and can do in vWork. In vWork users can have Web App Permissions and Mobile Permissions.
If you are a vWork Administrator with Admin permissions you have the ability to customize access to both web app and mobile app permissions for each user to determine what they are allowed to do when using vWork.
In this article
This article explains Mobile Permissions and how they determine what a user can do when using the vWork mobile app. If you want to find out how to add new users to your vWork account please see the article, Create new users and send a log-in link to mobile users.
Topics in this article include:
- What are the Mobile Permissions?
- An example of Mobile Permissions applied to a worker
- Review the General Settings for additional restrictions to permissions
Click a topic from the topic list above to go to that topic. You can return to this topic list by clicking this icon:
What are the Mobile Permissions?
Mobile Permissions determine if a vWork mobile app user can edit job information, create new jobs, or assign or reassign jobs to other mobile app users through the vWork mobile app.
All users, including mobile app users, are set up on the User Management page in the web app. This is where an Administrator adds new users and edits existing user profiles. All user permissions are assigned within a user's profile.
Note: vWork's mobile app is for use by workers who create and complete jobs from a mobile device. The mobile app isn't a full scheduling app for dispatchers - this is what the web app is for.
You can find out more about web app permissions for administrators and dispatchers in the article, Web App Permissions.
The Mobile Permissions for vWork mobile app users (workers) are listed and explained here.
💡Tip: Administrators and dispatchers can also have Mobile Permissions in addition to Web App Permissions if they need to view and complete tasks for jobs on the vWork mobile app.
- Enabled - This permission allows a worker to log in to the mobile app on their mobile device and complete jobs that are assigned to them. This is the most basic permission that all mobile app users must have enabled to use the mobile app.
💡Tip: You can also enable the Chat Web App permission for users with Mobile Permissions enabled. When enabled for a mobile app user the Chat permission allows a user to exchange messages in the vWork mobile app with other mobile app users who also have this permission enabled.
- Create Jobs - This permission allows a worker to create jobs from the mobile app and upload these to the vWork server so they are visible to the dispatcher like all other jobs. When selected this opens a new field where the Administrator can choose to restrict which templates the worker can create jobs from. If left blank they can use all templates to create jobs.
- Assign Jobs - This permission allows a worker to reassign a job that is assigned to them to another worker or assign a job created by them, through the mobile app, to another worker. When selected this opens a new field where the Administrator can choose to restrict which workers the worker can assign or reassign jobs to. If left blank the worker can assign jobs to any other worker.
- Invoices - This permission has three levels:
- When None is selected the worker can't see or interact with invoice information for a job.
- When Full is selected the worker can see and edit invoice information for a job and email the invoice to an email recipient.
- When Read is selected the worker can see the invoice information but can't edit it. They can email the invoice to an email recipient.
Note: If invoicing isn't enabled in your account in the Finance settings, you won't see the Invoices permission.
An example of Mobile Permissions applied to a worker
In this example, the worker, Amy, has been set up with all Mobile Permissions but she is restricted to read access for invoices. This means Amy can:
- Log in to the mobile app and complete jobs that are assigned to her. (Enabled permission)
- Create new jobs using any template. (Create permission).
- Assign jobs to other workers from her mobile app. She can reassign jobs that are currently assigned to her and also assign jobs she creates. (Assign Jobs permission)
Note: Although Amy has the Assign Jobs permission enabled, she can only assign jobs to the workers specified in her user profile (Anthony and Steve). If no workers were specified in her profile she would be able to assign jobs to any other worker.
- View invoices related to her jobs, but she can't edit them. (Invoice permission set to the Read level.)
On the User Management page, you can see a summary of all users and their permissions. You can see Amy's permission summarized in this table.
Review the General Settings for additional restrictions to permissions
Some permissions are also affected by the settings selected in the General vWork settings. These change the behavior of some permissions when the permission is enabled. We recommend you review the General settings to make sure users can do what you need them to do in Work.