There are 11 possible job statuses in vWork. The colors are very useful in telling you quickly what the status of a job is. Each of the images below is how a job is displayed in the left-hand panel of the schedule. The same job will show a colored dot on the Jobs tab, and it will also show on the map as a colored triangle.
Standard status colors
In the following examples of each job status, the left-hand icon shows what you will see in the left-hand panel on the Schedule. The right-hand icon shows what you will see on the Schedule bar chart or workbench.
A job can be in Draft status with or without having a worker or start time associated with it. A job in Draft can be moved around on the schedule but can't be published. The Draft status is light pink.
A job that hasn't been associated with a worker is Unassigned. If it doesn't have a start time it will only show in the left-hand panel of the Schedule. It will also show on the workbench when it has a start time (the left-hand icon above). The Unassigned status is bright pink.
When a job has a start time and has been placed on the worker's Schedule but has not been published to the worker's mobile app the job shows as orange and has an Unpublished status. You can still move the job around the Schedule without this making changes to the worker's phone. The Publish Schedule button flashes on the Schedule when you have unpublished jobs. When you click the Publish Schedule button all unpublished jobs are sent out to the worker's mobile apps.
If the Accept and Decline Jobs setting is enabled in the vWork Settings, once published jobs show as Pending on the Schedule until the worker accepts the job through the mobile app. When jobs have a Pending status they show in yellow.
After a job is published and accepted on a worker's phone, either automatically or after the worker has selected the Accept option, the job has a status of Assigned. When in the Assigned status the job shows in blue. You can read more about how to assign a job in the article, Assign a Job to a worker
When the worker completes the first step the job takes on the status of Started. It stays in this status until the last step is completed. The Started status shows in green.
As each step in the job is completed the dot in the left-hand panel changes from green to gray to show how far through the job is. Here the job is ⅔ completed as 2 out of 3 steps have been completed.
When the worker completes the final step for the job the job changes status to Completed. A Completed job shows in gray.
Additional status colors
Additional colors show the status of the job when there are exceptions to the normal process.
If the Customers Can Postpone Jobs option is enabled in the vWork Settings, a customer can postpone a job from an email alert up to 30 minutes before the job is due to start. When a job is postponed it shows a Postponed status. This Postponed status is red.
If the Accept and Decline Jobs setting is enabled in the vWork Settings, once published the mobile worker may Decline the job through the mobile app. When the mobile worker declines a job it goes into the Declined status and is moved onto the workbench. The Declined status is also red.
This yellow pause symbol is overlayed over the green, started job in the Schedule when a mobile worker pauses a job. It also shows as a yellow dot on the Jobs tab and as a green triangle overlayed with the pause symbol on the Map.
When a job is paused, the duration of time passing for the job stops. When the job re-starts it may look like two jobs on the schedule as the job is split into separate parts as the time that passes to complete the job restarts at the time the job is unpaused.
When a job is canceled it is removed from the Schedule and can only be seen on the Jobs tab.
Note: A Canceled job is different from a Deleted job. When you delete a job in vWork the job is removed from vWork completely and cannot be retrieved or reinstated. You can read more about the differences between Cancel and Delete in the article, What happens when I Cancel or Delete a Job?